Skip to main content

The next round of submissions for the Edna Staebler Award for Creative Non-Fiction, recognizing books published during 2024, will open in January 2025.

The Edna Staebler Award for Creative Non-Fiction is open to print books and ebooks of creative nonfiction published in the previous calendar year (e.g. books published during the 2020 calendar year are eligible for the 2021 award). To qualify, the writer must be Canadian, and an entry:

  • must be a writer's first or second published book of creative non-fiction;
  • must have a Canadian locale and/or significance; and
  • should be distinguished by first-hand research, well-crafted interpretive writing, the writer's personal discovery or experience, and creative use of language or approach to the subject matter.

Previous winners are not eligible, and the judges reserve the right to grant or withhold the award in any year. The decision of the judges is final.


If you have any questions, contact

Contact Us:

Award for Creative Non-Fiction

T: 1-548-889-4333

Writer-in-Residence Program

T: 1-548-889-5077